Lizz Wright – Freedom & Surrender

Lizz Wright – Freedom & Surrender

Lizz Wright, the jazz-R&B vocalist from Georgia, will team up with Gregory Porter, among other guests, on her forthcoming debut for Concord Records, ‘Freedom & Surrender.’ It’s due out worldwide on September 4.

Wright_lizz_Lizz Wright_Freedom_Surrender

The new release comes five years after her much-praised, gospel-flavoured ‘Fellowship’ album for Verve, which featured Angelique Kidjo, Meshell Ndegeocello and others. The 35-year-old’s ‘Freedom & Surrender’ will include a duet with Porter and contributions from drummer Vinnie Colaiuta, bassist Dan Lutz, percussionist Pete Korpela, guitarists Dean Parks and Jesse Harris; and keyboardists Kenny Banks, Pete Kuzma, and Billy Childs.

The set is produced by four-time Grammy-winning producer and bassist Larry Klein, who called in his longtime songwriting partner David Batteau to collaborate with Wright on material. It features mainly original songs, a far cry from the earlier idea of making it mainly a covers set, with themes about the “circuitous dance of love.”

“There’s a time for everything,” says Wright. “There’s a time to do cover-song records, which can be like sharing good homework after doing really beautiful research. It can be amazing and very creative in that way. But I just knew it wasn’t time for me to be doing that. I had to prove it and buckle down and make it happen.”

1. Freedom
2. The Game
3. The New Game
4. Lean In
5. Right Where You Are
6. River Man
7. Somewhere Down The Mystic
8. Real Life Painting
9. To Love Somebody
10. Here And Now
11. You
12. Blessed The Brave
13. Surrender